Runners are kings of the fields

PUBLISHED: 13:43 24 January 2011

Steve McKeown, Nick Beresford and Andy Mutton. Photo: Karen Dodsworth

Steve McKeown, Nick Beresford and Andy Mutton. Photo: Karen Dodsworth


North Herts triumph in Three Counties Cross Country League

North Herts Road Runners are celebrating after winning the Three Counties Cross Country League on Sunday for the first time in a decade.

This highly competitive league consists of 13 clubs from Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire and Hertfordshire including Stopsley Striders, Biggleswade AC and Bedford Harriers.

North Herts made sure of victory with a string of outstanding performances from the scoring team members and great efforts from other members to finish in front of other club’s scoring runners.

The race involved a gruelling 5.5 miles of soft to heavy mud with a couple of steep, long hills.

First across the line for the club was Matt Leach who finished in third place and who has enjoyed a fantastic week after also winning the Cambridgeshire Schools Championships last Thursday.

Hot on his heels were Nick Beresford (fourth), Andy Mutton (sixth), V40 Steve McKeown (seventh) and Rob Harris (tenth).

With V40 James Walsh 14th and Gary Cook 20th completing the scoring team the men were runaway winners on the day ahead of Ampthill and Flitwick Flyers.

In the ladies’ race Astrid McKeown enjoyed a stunning return to racing after a six-month lay-off due to injury to finish fourth and with ladies’ team captain Tash Davies seventh and Paula Adams eighth the ladies finished second, narrowly beaten by Bedford Harriers.

Other male finishers were: Mark Hutchison (23rd), Ciarron McAneny (24th), Nick Malpeli (44th), John Russell (47th), Stewart Bryant (56th), Tim Street (60th), Pete Sibbett (73rd), Guy Wiseman (80th), Chris Priestley (112th), Deryk Myall (140th), Colin calcutt (142nd), Matt Rix (156th), Ryan Johnson (161st) and Brian Judkins (183rd).

Finishing for the ladies were: Sue Cross (26th), Karen Dodsworth (33rd), Linda Aird (39th), Julie Harris (56th) and Lindsay Cook (83rd).

Overall in the league North Herts triumphed with 633 points with Wooton Road Runners. The men were crowned champions, and the ladies were third.

Individually Steve McKeown won the V40 category, Matt Leach, at just 17 years of age, was third senior man, and Stewart Bryant won bronze in the V50 category.

Eight squirrels made the trip up the A1 for the Folksworth 15, a popular race for those targeting a spring marathon.

On a testing two-lap course, Adrian Robinson was pleased with his time of 1:45:36 finishing in 66th position.

Richard Thackeray followed in 74th place in 1:47:12.

Sue Foot was the first NHRR lady finishing in 2:19:02. Other squirrels were Mary-Jane Robinson (2:20:07), Lisa Thackeray (2:21:18), Nicky Kemp (2:25:53), Rachel Annetts (2:26:33) and Vanessa Rolfe (2:29:05).

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Comet. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the The Comet