Nominations for London Football Awards revealed

PUBLISHED: 15:20 31 January 2019

Harry Kane receives his London Football Awards Young Player of the Year trophy from Glenn Hoddle in 2015. Picture: DEBBIE RAM PHOTOGRAPHY

Harry Kane receives his London Football Awards Young Player of the Year trophy from Glenn Hoddle in 2015. Picture: DEBBIE RAM PHOTOGRAPHY


The nominations for the London Football Awards have been made with some of the cream of the Premier League up for the trophies.

Harry Kane accepts his London Football award. Picture: WILLOWHarry Kane accepts his London Football award. Picture: WILLOW

Last year’s winner, Harry Kane MBE, is nominated alongside teammate Heung-Min Son and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard for Premier League Player of the Year while Spurs boss will compete with Chelsea’s Maurizio Sarri and Arsenal Women’s Joe Montemurro for Manager of the Year.

The winners of each of the nine awards will be announced at the prestigious event at London’s Battersea Evolution on February 28.

The awards, which are now in their fifth year, help raise funds for Welwyn Garden City-based charity Willow, set-up by former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter Bob Wilson OBE and his wife Megs,

They are the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable special days.

Wilson said: “The London Football Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the skills of our nominees, as well as the outstanding community work achieved by the clubs and County FAs.

“It’s been a dramatic and exciting season for all the capital’s clubs and it’s refreshing to see names from some second and third tier league teams, vying for awards against the usual premiership heavyweights.

“I’m looking forward to celebrating the best of London’s football with friends and colleagues on February 28.”

This year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award is former Tottenham, Chelsea and England footballer and manager, Glenn Hoddle.

This prestigious award was previously presented to Ian Wright, Frank Lampard, John Terry and Arsene Wenger.

Standard tickets to the London Football Awards, including pre-dinner drinks and a three course meal, cost £225 per person.

Tables of 10 are available for £2,250, Premium tables cost £3,500 and Legend Tables (for nine guests plus a legend) cost £6,000.

For more information and booking visit or telephone Willow on 01707 259777.

For more information about Willow visit

The nominees are:

Premier League Player of the Year (sponsored by Toscafund)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Arsenal

Eden Hazard – Chelsea

Harry Kane MBE – Tottenham Hotspur

Heung-Min Son – Tottenham Hotspur

Andros Townsend – Crystal Palace

Manager of the Year (sponsored by BH2)

Lee Bowyer – Charlton Athletic

Javi Gracia – Watford

Joe Montemurro – Arsenal Women

Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur

Maurizio Sarri – Chelsea

EFL Player of the Year

Luke Freeman – Queens Park Rangers

Karlan Grant – Charlton Athletic

Lee Gregory – Millwall

Neal Maupay – Brentford

Lyle Taylor – Charlton Athletic

Goalkeeper of the Year (sponsored by Multiplex)

Kepa Arrizabalaga – Chelsea

Łukasz Fabiański – West Ham United

Ben Foster – Watford

Joe Lumley – Queens Park Rangers

Dillon Phillips – Charlton Athletic

Women’s Player of the Year (sponsored by Computacenter)

Erin Cuthbert – Chelsea Women

Rianna Dean – Tottenham Hotspur Ladies

Vivianne Miedema– Arsenal Women

Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women

Ji So-Yun– Chelsea Women

Young Player of the Year (U21) (sponsored by Zeus Capital)

Eberechi Eze – Queens Park Rangers

Karlan Grant – Charlton Athletic

Mattéo Guendouzi – Arsenal

Declan Rice – West Ham United

Aaron Wan-Bissaka – Crystal Palace

Community Project of the Year (sponsored by the Evening Standard)

Arsenal in the Community – Drawn Out

Brentford FC Community Sports Trust – Ambassadors Project

Chelsea Foundation – Say No To Antisemitism

The FA ‘For All’ Award (Sponsored by The Football Association)

Essex County FA – Muslimah Sports Association

London County FA – St. Matthews Project

Surrey County FA – Inclusive Schools League

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the The Comet

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists