Stevenage will start their first season back in League One for nine years on the road at old friends - after the release of the 2023-2024 fixtures.

Northampton Town were also promoted back to the division with Boro, the pair playing out a 1-1 draw on April 1 in the last clash between the two.

They meet on day one, August 5.

The first four away games are four of the seven closest trips of the campaign. Cambridge comes in the first midweek match on August 15 while Reading away is on August 19

Stevenage's first home game is against Shrewbury Town on August 12 while Portsmouth are the visitors on the bank holiday weekend.

Blackpool illuminations will be up and running when Boro head to Lancashire in both October and November, Bloomfield Road on October 14 and Fleetwood Town on November 25.

The festive fixtures start with a trip to Barnsley on December 23 with the return matches against Northampton and Cambridge on Boxing Day and December 29.

Pompey away is New Year's Day.

The longest trip of the season comes on March 23, away to Carlisle United while Easter sees Boro at home to Bolton Wanderers on Good Friday and away to Charlton Athletic on Easter Monday.

That starts the run-in with Exeter City away, Burton Albion home, Oxford United away and Cheltenham Town home the final four games.

Boro were last in the third tier of English football in 2014 having spent three seasons there.

They returned after finishing second last time out, winning 24 and drawing 13 of their 46 games.


EFL League One 2023-2024 - Stevenage fixtures in full

5.Northampton Town (a)
12.Shrewsbury Town (h)
15.Cambridge United (a)
19.Reading (a)
26.Portsmouth (h)
2.Leyton Orient (a)
9.Carlisle United (h)
16.Charlton Athletic (h)
23.Cheltenham Town (a)
30.Oxford United (h)
3.Bolton Wanderers (a)
7.Wigan Athletic (h)
14.Blackpool (a)
21.Port Vale (h)
24.Bristol Rovers (a)
28.Derby County (h)
11.Wycombe Wanderers (a)
18.Lincoln City (h)
25.Fleetwood Town (a)
28.Peterborough United (h)
9.Burton Albion (a)
16.Exeter City (h)
23.Barnsley (a)
26.Northampton Town (h)
29.Cambridge United (h)
1.Portsmouth (a)
6.Reading (h)
13.Shrewsbury Town (a)
20.Barnsley (h)
27.Wigan Athletic (a)
3.Blackpool (h)
10.Port Vale (a)
13.Bristol Rovers (h)
17.Derby County (a)
24.Wycombe Wanderers (h)
2.Lincoln City (a)
9.Fleetwood Town (h)
12.Peterborough United (a)
16.Leyton Orient (h)
23.Carlisle United (a)
29.Bolton Wanderers (h)
1.Charlton Athletic (a)
6.Exeter City (a)
13.Burton Albion(h)
20.Oxford United (a)
27.Cheltenham Town (h)