Success stories aplenty at Stevenage Sporting Futures Team’s annual awards

PUBLISHED: 18:24 04 July 2018

The Stevenage Sporting Futures Annual Awards winners at The Nobel School. Picture: Stevenage Sporting Futures

The Stevenage Sporting Futures Annual Awards winners at The Nobel School. Picture: Stevenage Sporting Futures


Sporting successes were saluted at the Stevenage Sporting Futures Team’s annual awards evening.

The evening, held at Stevenage’s Nobel School, was attended by Stevenage FC manager Dino Maamria and mayor Margaret Notley.

Ross Goodshop from the Stevenage Sporting Futures Team said they would like to congratulate all the nominees, everyone who was highly commended and all the category winners.

“Thank you to those that attended and made it a wonderful evening, celebrating the successes and achievements of our partner schools this academic year,” he said.

“A massive thank you to all of our sponsors who made it possible. We now look forward to next year’s awards.”

Primary school of the year was St Ippolyts, while Stevenage’s Thomas Alleyne Academy won secondary school of the year. The Ashtree Primary School netball team won primary team of the year, with the under-14 Barnwell girls’ rowers named secondary team of the year.

Sports co-ordinator of the year was Michelle Wooley, and Codicote’s Jacob Vickers was named young sports achiever of the year for key stages one and two. Tom Jeffries from the Thomas Alleyne Academy won the equivalent award for key stages three and four.

Jade Clark from Letchmore Infants’ and Nursery School won the Couldn’t Do Sport Without prize, and Ellie Andrews won the contribution to disability sport award.

The young leader award for key stage two went to Sophia from Codicote, while Jamie Baker won the prize for key stages three and four.

Apprentices of the year were Luke Wilkinson and Melisa Doran.

The Stevenage sports ambassadors crew of the year prize went to Graveley, while Larwood won the SSFT award.

Codicote and Stevenage’s Barclay School won the primary and secondary school games awards respectively.

Finally, the school games value award went to Bedwell Primary School in Stevenage.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Comet. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the The Comet