Stevenage leaders appointed

Political leaders for the coming year in Stevenage were elected last night (Wednesday) with the new mayor taking up the chain of office.

It was business as usual at the council’s annual general meeting as all three party leaders were re-elected while the portfolio holders responsible for the seven departments of the council were unchanged.

Carol Latif, Labour councillor for St Nicholas ward since 1999 was sworn in as mayor – the ceremonial head of the authority for the coming year.

Cllr Latif, a former language teacher at Bedwell Secondary School and special needs tutor at Almond Hill Junior School, said: “I am honoured to serve as mayor and represent the town where I have lived for more than 40 years and where I raised my family. I will spend the year getting involved in community life, supporting some wonderful causes and helping to raise the profile and reputation of the town locally and nationally.”

Her chosen charities are Age Concern Stevenage, Cancer Hair Care, Stevenage Community Trust and Stevenage District Scouts.

Out-going mayor Michael Downing raised over �3,700 for his chosen charities, Stevenage Community Trust, Mind in Mid Herts and Peace Child International.

He said the opportunity to represent the town “has been a great honour and being able to actively support three such excellent charities has been extremely rewarding”.

Most Read

Full list of council appointments for 2011/12:

Mayor: Carol Latif

Deputy Mayor: John Lloyd


Leader: Sharon Taylor

Deputy leader: John Gardner (Environment)

Howard Burrell (Children and Young People, Culture, Sport and Leisure)

Sherma Batson (Community, Health and Older People)

Safer and Stronger Communities (Richard Henry)

Joan Lloyd (Resources)

Ralph Raynor (Economy, Enterprise and Transport)

Ann Webb (Housing)

Leader of the opposition: Graham Clark

Deputy leader of the opposition: Margaret Notley

Leader of the minority opposition: Robin Parker

Deputy leader of the minority opposition: Graham Snell