Nominees set for Comet Community Awards ceremony

Comet Community Awards 2014

Comet Community Awards 2014 - Credit: Archant

The Comet Community Awards take place tonight (Friday) at the Icknield Centre in Letchworth GC.

The event, hosted by Formula One commentator David Croft, aims to recognise inspirational people living and working in and around Comet country.

All the winners will be announced via our Twitter account @TheComet24 and by searching the hashtag #CometAwards from 7pm onwards.

See the shortlisted nominations below.

Young Achiever:

You may also want to watch:

• Tae Pullin

• Gabz Gardiner

Most Read

• Lauren Joyce, Emma Casey, Sophia Gamgeni

• Morgan Simpson

Carer of the Year:

• Patrick Greaney

• Bridget Flint

• Phillip Humfrey

• Jackie Nealon

Service to the Community:

• Pamela Biggs

• Sue Reeve

• Eric Camp

• Susan Williams

Teacher of the Year:

• Christine Jones

• Stephen Sapsed

• Lauren Bennett

• Michael Hearn

Valiant Volunteer:

• Carole Berry

• Helen Illsey

• Extra Smile Project

• Jackie Nealon

Parent in a Million:

• Steven Rowe

• Julia Cornish

• Aviva Bhandari

Nurse/Care Worker of the Year:

• Emma Wright

• Tia Davolls

• Maureen D’amore

• Enda Gallagher

Role Model of the Year:

• David Owen, Clayton Pearce, Umar Hussain

• Bridget Flint

• Val Roberts

• Billy McGill

Great and Green:

• Sally Taylor

• Lisette Stribling

• Broom Barns School

• Big Hitchin Tidy Up

Charity Champions:

• Helen Illsey

• Stephen Sapsed

• Susan Williams

• Andy Nation

Good Neighbour:

• Letchworth Friends and Neighbours Club

• Amanda Dell

• The congregation of Christchurch Methodist and United Reformed Church, Hitchin

• Paul Hedland

Lifetime Achievement:

• Roberta Meldrum

• Val Roberts

• Joanna Coker

• Sue Reeve

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter