May the fourth be with you – Your chance to vote in elections for councillors to represent you across Stevenage, Central Bedfordshire and North Hertfordshire

Elections are being held across the region today

Elections are being held across the region today - Credit: Archant

You will get your chance to vote for councillors to represent you at county level on May 4.

Polling stations close at 10pm this evening.

Polling stations close at 10pm this evening. - Credit: Archant

All seats for Hertfordshire county councillors representing divisions in North Hertfordshire and Stevenage will be contested as part of Hertfordshire County Council’s four-yearly cycle of elections.

Candidates from the full range of political parties will be fighting for seats across our area.

The Conservative Party will be looking to hold onto its overwhelming majority with 46 seats on the council from a total of 77, while Labour and the Lib Dems will be hoping they can make gains with 15 and 16 seats respectively.

The council has had a Conservative majority continuously since the election of 2001.

You may also want to watch:

There are also seats up for grabs in by elections for Central Bedfordshire, Stevenage Borough and North Herts District councils on the same day and there will be a handful of elections for some parish councils.

If you are not registered to vote, you can sign up online here.

If you are, you should have been sent a polling card with details of your nearest polling station.

Most Read

The councils across Hertfordshire will hold their counts overnight on May 4.

The results will be declared as soon as they have been counted and the first declarations are expected to be made from around 11.30pm.

The Comet team will be covering the counts so check back here for live coverage or follow us on Facebook or Twitter @thecomet24.

Herts County Council seats for


• Hitchin North

Judi Billing (Lab); Barbara Clare (TUSC); Sam Collins (Lib Dem); David Leal-Bennett (Con); Mario May (Green).

• Hitchin Rural

David Barnard (Con); Mary Marshall (Green); Neill Sankey (Lab); Carol Stanier (Lib Dem).

• Hitchin South

Derrick Ashley (Con); Paul Clark (Lib Dem); Angela Griggs (Lab); Diana Newson (Green);

• Knebworth and Codicote

Richard Downey (Lab); Rebecca Leek (Green); Richard Thake (Con); Terry Tyler (Lib Dem).

• Baldock and Letchworth East

Brian Alderton (UKIP); Rosemary Bland (Green); Anne Holland (Lab); Michael Muir (Con); Richard Winter (Lib Dem).

• Letchworth North

Simon Bloxham (Con); Elizabeth Hancock (Green); Sean Prendergast (Lib Dem); Doug Swanney (Lab).

North Herts District Council seats for


• Hitchin Priory ward

John Hefford (Lib Dem); Jacqueline McDonald (Independent); Raymond Shakespeare-Smith (Con); Des Stephens (Green); Dave Winstanley (Lab).

Herts County Council seats for


• Bedwell

Michelle Frith (Con); Mark Gentleman (TUSC); Andy McGuinness (Lib Dem); Victoria Snelling (Green Party);

Sharon Taylor (Lab).

• Broadwater

Michelle Gardner (Lab); Helen Kerr (TUSC); Adam Mitchell (Con); Richard Warr (Green); Thomas Wren (Lib Dem).

• Chells

Roger Charles (TUSC); Matthew Hurst (Con) Marion Mason (UKIP); Robin Parker (Lib Dem); Simon Speller (Lab).

• Old Stevenage

Joshua Bennett Lovell (Lab); Clive Hearmon (Lib Dem); Graham Lawrence (Con); Elizabeth Sturges (Green); Marilyn Yarnold-Forrester (UKIP).

• Shephall

Stephen Booth (Lib Dem); Jim Brown (Lab); Michael Hearn (Con); Mike Malocco (Green Party); Trevor Palmer (TUSC).

• St Nicholas

Amo Amato (UKIP); Phil Bibby (Con); Amber Gentleman (TUSC); Richard Henry (Lab);

Vicky Lovelace (Green); Graham Snell (Lib Dem).

Stevenage Borough Council seats for


• Roebuck ward

Monika Cherney-Craw (Lab); Alexander Farquharson (Con); Helen Kerr (TUSC); Martin Malocco (Green); Thomas Wren (Lib Dem).

Central Bedfordshire Council seats for

• Shefford

Mark Liddiard (Con); David Short (Lab); Roger Smith (UKIP); Annabel Woolmer (Lib Dem).

•Biggleswade North

Nigel Aldis (Lib Dem); Bernard Briars (Lab); Amy Peabody (Green); Bernard Rix (Independent); Duncan Strachan (UKIP); Steven Watkins (Con).

Parish council election for

• Henlow

Andy Campbell; Debbie Horner.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter