Brexit: Theresa May’s withdrawal agreement rejected, but how did our MPs vote?

MPs Stephen McPartland, Nadine Dorries, Bim Afolami, Alistair Burt and Sir Oliver Heald. Picture: Ar

MPs Stephen McPartland, Nadine Dorries, Bim Afolami, Alistair Burt and Sir Oliver Heald. Picture: Archant - Credit: Archant

The Prime Minister’s Brexit withdrawal agreement has been rejected by MPs for a third time this afternoon.

The latest vote saw 286 MPs in favour and 344 reject the withdrawal agreement, and to delay Brexit until May 22.

Prime Minister Theresa May addressed the House of Commons following the announcement of the results. She said: “It should be a matter of profound regret to every member of this house that once again we have been unable to support leaving the European Union in an orderly fashion.

“The implications of the house’s decision are grave. The legal default now is that the UK is due to leaving the European Union on April 12, just 14 days’ time.

“That is not enough time to agree, legislate and ratify a deal, and yet the house has been clear it will not permit leaving without a deal.”

You may also want to watch:

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn called for the Prime Minister to resign and stated there should be a general election.

All five of our MPs – Stephen McPartland for Stevenage, Sir Oliver Heald for North East Herts, Bim Afolami for Hitchin and Harpenden, Alistair Burt for North East Bedfordshire and Nadine Dorries for Mid Bedfordshire – voted in support of the withdrawal agreement.

Most Read

Mr McPartland took to Twitter and said: “I voted for the withdrawal agreement, so we can leave the European Union and deliver on the biggest democratic mandate in our country. Labour voted again to steal Brexit and betray the British people.”

Sir Oliver Heald also tweeted: “I will vote for the withdrawal agreement because it is the best deal available and will protect jobs in NE Herts.”

In an open letter to his constituents, Bim Afolami said: “If the withdrawal agreement and political declaration comes back for a third meaningful vote, I will of course vote for it again.

Mid Bedfordshire MP Nadine Dorries said: “There is only one way to keep no deal on the table and that is to vote today so that the Bill comes back next Wednesday. “That way, it’s deal or no deal. If the vote is lost, it will be indicative votes on Monday and revoke may win. #Voteforthedeal.”

Alistair Burt – who resigned from his post as Minister of State for International Development over Brexit concerns on Tuesday – also penned an open letter to constituents, which says: “I will be voting for the Prime Minster’s withdrawal agreement today.

“If the agreement is not passed tonight, and if the agreed deal between the UK and the EU cannot be delivered, I will continue to work with colleagues in the Conservative Party and beyond, for an alternative. I expect to vote for some of those alternatives next Monday if that is the case.”

Theresa May’s Brexit deal was rejected for a second time in the House of Commons on March 12 and on March 15, MPs backed an amendment to delay the date of Brexit, which was originally set to be this evening.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter