Herts County Council election nominees announced - North Herts and Stevenage

The candidates were announced today

The candidates were announced today - Credit: Archant

THE candidates standing for county council election have been announced today (Monday).

Voters will go to the polls on May 2 to elect their county councillors.

All 77 seats across the county are up, with nine of those in North Herts and six in Stevenage.

There are no elections in Central Beds this year, although Fairfield Parish Council’s first wave of councillors will be elected. You can see those nominated in North Herts and Stevenage below.

Hitchin North

David Billing (Lab); Andrew Ircha (Lib Dem); Alan Millard (Con); Gavin Nicholson (Green)

Hitchin Rural

Most Read

David Barnard (Con); Sadie Billing (Lab); Sylvia Hutchinson (Green); Michael Lott (Lib Dem)

Hitchin South

Derrick Ashley (Con); Paul Clark (Lib Dem); Kate Hendry (Green); Nafisa Sayany (Lab); Adrianne Smyth (UKIP)

Knebworth and Codicote

Nick Brooke (UKIP); John Kolm-Murray (Lab); Rob Lambie (Lib Dem); Rebecca Leek (Green); Richard Thake (Con)

Letchworth East and Baldock

Rachel Burgin (Lab); Michael Muir (Con); Arwen Tapping (Green); Richard Winter (Lib Dem)

Letchworth North West

Rosemary Bland (Green); Andy Frankland (Con); Lorna Kercher (Lab); Martin Penny (Lib Dem); Charles Vickers (English Democrats)

Letchworth South

John Barry (UKIP); Terry Hone (Con); David Kearns (Lab); Mario May (Green); John Winder (Lib Dem)

North Herts Rural

Ken Garland (Lab); Tony Hunter (Con); Felix Power (Green); Peter Robbins (UKIP); Ian Simpson (Lib Dem)



Michelle Calcutt (Con); Ian Cropton (Green); Steve Glennon (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts); Billy Hamilton (UKIP); Gareth Steiner (Lib Dem); Sharon Taylor (Lab)


Sherma Batson (Lab); Matthew Hurst (Con); Helen Kerr (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts); Andy McGuinness (Lib Dem); Graham White (Green)


James Drew (Green); Ric Euteneuer (Lab); Sheila Hamilton (UKIP); Margaret Notley (Con); Robin Parker (Lib Dem); Mark Pickersgill (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)

Old Stevenage

James Fraser (Con); Clive Hearmon (Lib Dem); Sean Howlett (UKIP); Amanda King (Lab); Trevor Palmer (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts); Elizabeth Sturges (Green)


Debby Betts (Lib Dem); Harold Bland (Green); Amanda Dilley (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts); John Lloyd (Lab); Adam Mitchell (Con)

St Nicholas

Phil Bibby (Con); Mark Gentleman (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts); Richard Henry (Lab); Ken Neal (UKIP); Graham Snell (Lib Dem); Julia Winter (Green)