Four out of five Comet country MPs vote against gay marriage bill

Stephen McPartland

Stephen McPartland - Credit: Archant

FOUR out of five Comet country MPs voted against the marriage of the same sex couples bill.

Stevenage MP Stephen McPartland, Hitchin and Harpenden MP Peter Lilley, North East Hertfordshire MP Oliver Heald and Mid Bedfordshire MP Nadine Dorries all voted against the controversial bill last night (Tuesday)

MP Alistair Burt for North East Bedfordshire was the only MP who voted for the bill.

The commons voted in favour by 400 to 175, a majority of 225.

MPs have backed the bill to legalise gay marriage in England and Wales, including by those religious organisations which want to offer it

You may also want to watch:

Voting lists show that 136 Conservatives opposed the bill.

For more reaction read this week’s Comet.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter