TWO schools have joined together to become a cooperative trust – the first of its kind in Hertfordshire.

The Highfield School and Fearnhill School in Letchworth GC will be joined by the University of Hertfordshire, Herts County Council and The Co-operative Society as their key partners in creating an opportunity to share best practice and to enhance the learning experience of pupils.

Both secondary schools will still be funded by Herts County Council but have a board of members made up of the key partners to form a governing body, which will have greater responsibility in the running of the schools.

The trust does not mean the two schools will become one. Each school will retain its own governing body and headteacher.