Comet Community Awards 2017: Finalists revealed ahead of special ceremony in Letchworth

The Comet Community Awards 2017.

The Comet Community Awards 2017. - Credit: Archant

The finalists for this year’s Comet Community Awards have been announced, with now just over a week until a special ceremony is held.

Ashleigh Jackson (bottom centre) from our events team flanked by Comet Community Awards judges Linds

Ashleigh Jackson (bottom centre) from our events team flanked by Comet Community Awards judges Lindsay Dowrick from Kingshott School and Sue Jarvis from B&M Care. Top row, Comet editor Nick Gill flanked by fellow judges Claire Austin from Austin's Family Funeral Directors and Peter Blow from Ken Brown Motors. Picture: Alan Millard - Credit: Archant

Judges from some of our sponsors met at our Stevenage offices last week, individually scoring dozens of entries.

The scores have now been totted up, with those who have made the shortlist across 12 categories invited to the awards ceremony which is taking place on Friday, May 19, at Letchworth’s Icknield Centre.

Comet editor Nick Gill said: “The awards is a great opportunity to take a moment to celebrate the many people doing fantastic things in our community, and each and every year it provides a truly inspiring evening. Congratulations to all our finalists, and a big thank you to our sponsors for giving up their time to judge all the entries – it’s quite a task!”

The finalists

Role Model of the Year

Lauren Asad

Most Read

Hannah Brown

Marion Flavelle

Rebecca Hughes

Charity Champions

Camps Hill Cheerleaders

Lauren Asad

Camps Hill Community Primary School

The Counselling Foundation Stevenage Centre

Nurse/Care Worker of

the Year

Rachel Earp

Sally Jarman

Emily Watts

Jodie Deards

Good Neighbour Award

Max Taylor

Ken Lynch

Judi Billing

Samantha Wood

Camilla Hamilton and volunteers of the Lister Neonatal Unit Families Group

Service to the Community Award

Samantha Wood

Imogen Blackburn-Horgan

Lauren Asad

Leila Lauder

Great and Green Award

Broom Barns Primary School gardening club/eco council

Hayley Sarll – Camps Hill Community Primary School

Peartree Spring Primary School

Big Hitchin Spring Clean Woolenwick Infant and Nursery School

Teacher of the Year

Alistair Holmes

Denise Moss

Steven Sapsed

Liz Byrne

Valiant Volunteer

Chris Hall

John Hardy

Pauline Taylor

Keith Temple

Parent in a Million

Maria Todd

Kelly Richardson

Dawn Farmer

Rhiannon Fraser

Carer of the Year

Maria Todd

Marion Flavelle

Garden House Hospice Care team

Nicola Sherwood

Alda and David Spooner

Young Achiever

Daniel Filler-Broadbent

Lauren Asad

Emma Chapman

Lily Beecham

Lifetime Achievement


Sally Jarmin

Peter Blagg

PD Finn