Previous Award Winners & Finalists: 2008

The award winners and finalists from The Comet Community Awards 2008

2008 Winners & Finalists

Young Achiever Award

Winner: Callum Abbott

Finalists: Robert Morely, Tim Steele

You may also want to watch:

Carer of the Year Award

Winner: Tim Steele

Most Read

Finalists: Janet Stacey, Phillip Humfrey

Service to the Community Award

Winner: Alex Lang

Finalists: Graeme Enderby, Graham Wheatly

Teacher of the Year Award

Winner: Rosemary Bailey

Finalist: Tracey Hemmings

Valiant Volunteer Award

Winner: Claire Gormill

Finalists: Alex Lang, Joan Kirby

Parent in a Million Award

Winner: Naomi McNeil

Finalists: Joanne Hardwick, Paula Young

Nurse/Care Worker of the Year Award

Winner: Dr Zain Haider

Finalist: Kara Smith

Role Model of the Year Award

Winner: Steve Gibbs

Finalists: Gobi Ranganathon, Rosemary Bailey

Great and Green Award

Winner: Robin Dartington

Finalists: David West, Diane Ketcher

Charity Champions Award

Winner: Norman Owens

Finalists: Derek Scott, Julie Goldthorpe

Good Neighbour Award

Winner: Richard Harman

Finalists: Liz and Bob Eversden, Mo Knowles

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Alex Lang

Finalists: Margaret Andre, Rosemary Bailey

Judges Special Award

Winner: David West

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter