Finalists Announced!

After a day of deliberation, our judges have picked their finalists....

JUDGING for this year’s Comet Community Awards has taken place this week, with those shortlisted set to be invited to a special ceremony. The awards aim to recognise people for their selfless acts to help others – from volunteers and carers to parents and teachers. Representatives from the sponsors made up the judging panel and shortlisted the nominees to attend the awards ceremony at Hitchin Town Hall on Thursday, May 31.

Young Achiever of the Year - Sponsored by The Altro Group

Finalists: Callum Ellis, Jen Clare, Laura Rutherford, Jason Sweeney

Carer of the Year - Sponsored by Pay Point

Finalists: Jacqui Newman, Mirsada Jakupovic, Wendy Abbott

Service to the Community Award - Sponsored by Specsavers

Most Read

Finalists: Jackie Nealon, Viv & Andy Williams, Jenny Mason

Teacher of the Year - Sponsored by North Herts College

Finalists: Sharon Fane, Stephen Sapsed, Brian David Deal

Valiant Volunteer - Sponsored by The Mansion House

Finalists: Martin Hill, Maggie Hackney, Westmill Fun Club

Parent in a Million - Sponsored by Wayside Volkswagen

Finalists: Mirka Anderson, Jenny Young, Melanie Ann McCarthy

Nurse/Care Worker of the Year - Sponsored by Stevenage Community Trust

Finalists: Shelia Rot, Sally Churms, Penny Mitchell

Role Model of the Year - Sponsored by Pinehill Hospital

Finalists: Anna Morris, Jenny Young, Pauline Worland

Great & Green Award - Sponsored by The Comet

Finalists: The Grange Junior School, Hitchin Community Garden, Isobel Barnes

Charity Champions - Sponsored by Letchworth Garden Square

Finalists: Tony Ridgeway -Cole, Andy Nation, Patricia Mary Prowse

Good Neighbour - Sponsored by North Hertfordshire Homes

Finalists: Andrian Pierce, Ray Medwinter, Benita Whelan

Lifetime Achievement Award - Sponsored by Morrison Utility Services

Finalists: John Austin, Lionel Chitty, Jenny Young