Thursday, June 25, 2020

Entries are now open for the 2020 Herts Business Awards to celebrate the hard work and achievements of firms and their people over the past 12 months.

Read more
Saturday, May 16, 2020

People living in Stevenage and Letchworth have written poetry and decorated their windows and bins for key workers.

Read more
Saturday, May 9, 2020

People across Stevenage, Hitchin and Letchworth drew pictures, wrote poems and decorated their windows to say thank you to NHS staff and key workers.

Read more
Sunday, April 26, 2020

A ‘Scrub Hub’ has been set up in Hertfordshire to respond to the desperate need for scrubs in the county’s hospitals, clinics and GP surgeries.

Read more
Coronavirus
Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Now more than ever, local journalism matters.

Read more
Saturday, April 11, 2020

The Comet asked NHS staff, carers and key workers to send in pictures of themselves for a gallery thanking them for all their hard work.

Read more
Thursday, February 6, 2020

Hertfordshire Libraries are boosting their stock with a series of books giving children advice about mental health.

Read more
Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Police appealed for the public’s help in tracing a 30-year-old man who went missing from Radlett.

Read more
Wednesday, February 5, 2020

Six men have been arrested on suspicion of conspiracy to defraud victims in Baldock, Letchworth, Royston, Welwyn Hatfield and beyond.

Read more
Sunday, February 2, 2020

A man who ran 401 marathons in 401 days is launching a sports hub in Hertfordshire for the mental health charity Mind.

Read more
Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Trains travelling between Welwyn Garden City, Stevenage and Royston are subject to delays due to a signalling fault.

Read more
Monday, January 27, 2020

A driver is believed to have suffered a medical episode at the wheel before their car came to a sudden stop on a roundabout in Stevenage this afternoon.

Read more
Thursday, January 23, 2020

Trains running through Welwyn Garden City, Stevenage and Royston may be cancelled or delayed this morning due to a fault with the signalling system.

Read more
Tuesday, January 14, 2020

A woman who was riding on a motorbike was killed in a crash on the A1(M) between WGC and Stevenage at the weekend.

Read more
Monday, January 13, 2020

Trains travelling through Royston and Cambridge are delayed, affecting Stevenage, Welwyn Garden City and Hatfield.

Read more
Sunday, January 12, 2020

Firefighters from Baldock and Hitchin attended a hut on fire in Letchworth in the early hours of this morning.

Read more
Saturday, January 11, 2020

Police are appealing for witnesses and information after two motorcyclists were seriously injured on the A1(M) between Welwyn Garden City and Stevenage.

Read more
Saturday, January 11, 2020

The A1(M) has been closed between Welwyn Garden City and Stevenage while emergency services deal with a serious collision.

Read more
Friday, January 10, 2020

Two men from Stevenage were arrested on suspicion of burglary after a St Albans business was broken into and subjected to criminal damage.

Read more
Thursday, January 2, 2020

Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service had a busy afternoon on New Year’s Day, with fire alarm activations across the county.

Read more
Thursday, December 19, 2019

Eight fire engines are working to contain a fire at a scrapyard in Hitchin this morning.

Read more
Saturday, December 14, 2019

More than 4,170 new pairs of socks were donated at stations across the Govia Thameslink Railway network - including St Albans, Stevenage and Royston.

Read more
Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Commuters spoke to Hitchin and Harpenden parliamentary candidates to find out what they would do to improve rail services if elected.

Read more
Monday, December 9, 2019

There are delays on the Great Northern line between Welwyn Garden City and Stevenage after a man was injured on the tracks at Knebworth.

Read more
Sunday, December 8, 2019

Police are appealing for the public’s help to trace 17-year-old Alicia Sesay, who is missing from her home in Letchworth.

Read more
Tuesday, December 3, 2019

A hustings has been held in Hitchin to give members of the public the chance to quiz Hitchin and Harpenden parliamentary candidates ahead of next week’s General Election.

Read more
General Election 2019

Campaigners are rejoicing after Hertfordshire County Council voted unanimously to oppose Luton Airport’s expansion.

Read more
Thursday, November 28, 2019

Commuters at Stevenage railway station can donate new pairs of socks to help people sleeping rough over Christmas.

Read more

Most read stories

Digital Edition

Image
Read the The Comet e-edition E-edition