Stevenage Borough Council 2018 election candidates confirmed

PUBLISHED: 15:41 09 April 2018 | UPDATED: 15:59 10 April 2018

Stevenage Borough Council's offices in Danestrete. Picture: Archant

Stevenage Borough Council's offices in Danestrete. Picture: Archant


The full list of candidates has been confirmed ahead of elections to Stevenage Borough Council next month.

The borough council has 39 seats. Ahead of the elections, there 27 Labour councillors, nine Conservatives and three Liberal Democrats.

Elections are being held on May 3 for 13 wards. Labour are defending nine seats, the Conservatives are defending three and the Lib Dems are defending one.

There are a total of 13 candidates each for Labour and the Conservatives, with 11 Liberal Democrat candidates and seven for the Greens.

If you haven’t already, you must register to vote by Tuesday, April 17. To find out more about voting and the elections, have a look at

The candidates in each seat are as follows:

Bandley Hill:

• Andrew David Anderson (Lib Dem)

• Nicholas Rohan Foster (Conservative)

• Joan Elizabeth Lloyd (Labour)


• Michelle Mary Frith (Conservative)

• Lizzy Kelly (Labour)

• Victoria Louise Snelling (Green)


• Pam Stuart (Labour)

• Tom Wren (Lib Dem)

• Matthew Paul Wyatt (Conservative)


• Doug Bainbridge (Conservative)

• Stephen John Booth (Lib Dem)

• David Stanley Wood (Labour)


• Matthew Austin Clarke (Conservative)

• David R S Martin (Labour)

• Andy McGuinness (Lib Dem)

Martins Wood:

• Joseph George Barnes (Conservative)

• Jill Brinkworth (Lib Dem)

• Lloyd James Briscoe (Labour)

Old Town:

• Monika Elizabeth Cherney-Craw (Labour)

• Jody Elizabeth Hanafin (Conservative)

• Mason Daniel Neal Humberstone (Lib Dem)

• Elizabeth Genevieve Sturges (Green)

Pin Green:

• Charlie Laing (Conservative)

• Vicky Lovelace (Green)

• Lin Martin-Haugh (Labour)


• Nigel Robert Bye (Lib Dem)

• Alex Farquharson (Conservative)

• Martin John Malocco (Green)

• Sarah-Jane Potter (Labour)


• Paul Matthew Barber (Lib Dem)

• Rob Broom (Labour)

• Michael Stevenage Hearn (Conservative)

• Michael Andrew Malocco (Green)

St Nicholas:

• Sandra Anne Barr (Labour)

• Naomi Ruth Collins (Green)

• Matthew Benjamin Robert Snell (Lib Dem)

• Amanda Tandi (Conservative)

Symonds Green:

• Clive Hearmon (Lib Dem)

• Sharon Jane Taylor (Labour)

• Richard David Warr (Green)

• Alex Young (Conservative)


• Phil Bibby (Conservative)

• Neil Geoffrey Brinkworth (Lib Dem)

• Irfan Javed (Labour)

More news stories

54 minutes ago

Online romance fraudsters pretending to be army officers or commandos have fleeced six Biggleswade victims out of at least £270,000, police have said.

A Letchworth environmentalist group publicly launched its project ‘Plastic Free Letchworth’ on Saturday in the town centre.

Yesterday, 18:24

Stevenage has been gridlocked with traffic this evening as a result of a road closure.

Yesterday, 15:11

An appeal has been launched in a bid to find a teenage girl who went missing from Hitchin on Saturday.

Most read stories


Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Read the The Comet e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter